Maureen Alikor, Poetry

Boiling Hate

image

This hate boiling in us
has maimed care in us,
our fight for ethicity has blinded our eyes to oneness,
cutlasses fly high in the sky
as daggers pierce through unclad skin and unsuspecting hearts,
man lyinching man,
inhumanity at its peak
as brotherhood has become but a by-word.

I am white, you are black;
this craze for division has buried millons,

this cold war we fight daily is hotter than sulphur and brimstone in a heated equation,
many have been severely burnt
yet blinded by our thirst for blood.
we feign unity,
but the cord holding us down has stylishly chopped thin by strife.

I am the descendant of Oduduwa,
the one true son of the soil
and my place shall not be taken by any,
with my blood I must save my name.

Mecca is my abode,
I am the one true son of allah,
I shall not be taken to be a mediocre,
and with my strength I’d save my land.

I am the one true son of Chukwu,
the okike one of the universe,
my blood is my bond
my land is my pride,
to save her I must.

I am called minority,
when elephants squabble I suffer,
when swords are flung and targets missed;
I suffer.

Blinded with ego
armed with unhealthy pride,
in disarray we lay bare our resources
as castigators fuel our contempt,
as they loot us dry
leaving us dependant on them
for our own goods,
this hate was weaved in by ancestors
who for fear of being sidelined; set us all at loggerheads.

Our chants say we are one,
but our actions sell us out
to willing and selfish buyers
who’d stop at nothing to shop for free,
what has become of us.

Must we be forced to drink even as we were dragged to the river of hate?

Can’t we say no to the rage boiling deep within us
and embrace the still small voice of peace as she whispers solemnly at mountaintops?

Can’t we embrace the oneness we once dreamed to have
and bid hate adieu?

2 thoughts on “Boiling Hate”

Leave a comment